Crypto World
Trezor phishing attack traced to Brevo login authorization flaw
An authorization flaw in Brevo’s login system has allowed an attacker to access 138 customer accounts, leading to phishing emails sent through accounts used by Trezor, BitBox and CoinTracking.
Summary
- A Brevo login flaw gave an attacker access to 138 customer accounts, including those used by Trezor, BitBox and CoinTracking.
- Phishing emails were sent through six accounts, while contact lists were exported from 43 accounts.
- A fraudulent Trezor email reached roughly 347,000 subscribers and sent around 2,500 people to a malicious link.
- Trezor is treating all 347,000 newsletter addresses as potentially known to the attacker and reusable for phishing.
Brevo said in a Thursday postmortem that the attacker exploited a weakness involving its single sign-on system, gaining access to organizations connected to legitimate users who had been invited into an attacker-controlled Brevo account.
The incident affected 138 customer accounts in total. Six were used to send phishing emails, contacts were exported from 43 accounts, while Brevo recorded no meaningful activity across another 93. The company did not specify whether those groups overlapped.
Brevo flaw gave attacker access to customer organizations
Brevo traced the incident to the way its platform handled permissions when users belonged to more than one organization.
The attacker first created a Brevo account and enabled single sign-on before inviting legitimate Brevo users into the newly created organization. Access should have remained limited to the attacker-controlled organization.
Instead, Brevo said an authorization boundary failed, allowing the attacker to reach every organization that the invited users themselves had permission to access.
The compromised accounts included those used by hardware wallet makers Trezor and BitBox and crypto portfolio tracking and tax-reporting service CoinTracking. Access to the legitimate email infrastructure allowed fraudulent messages to be distributed in a way that made them look like normal company communications.
The disclosure provides the technical explanation behind the phishing emails targeting Trezor and BitBox customers this week. Crypto.news previously reported that both hardware wallet companies warned users on Wednesday after identifying fraudulent security messages distributed through a third-party newsletter provider.
Because the messages were sent through legitimate mailing infrastructure, they could pass normal email authentication checks and reach subscribers from addresses associated with the affected companies.
Trezor’s phishing email used the subject line “Critical Security Alert: STM32 Entropy Vulnerability” and presented a supposed hardware security problem that required users to take action.
The message directed recipients to a malicious application that requested their wallet backups. Anyone who obtains a wallet recovery phrase can recreate the corresponding wallet and gain control over its funds.
Trezor phishing email reached 347,000 subscribers
Trezor said its Brevo account contained roughly 347,000 opt-in newsletter email addresses, with no other customer information stored on the platform.
A Trezor spokesperson told Cointelegraph that the initial phishing message was sent to all 347,000 addresses. The company subsequently contacted the same subscribers to warn them about the attack.
Trezor took the malicious domain offline at the DNS level within 20 minutes. Around 2,500 people had accessed the link before the takedown, according to the company.
“Until we hear more from Brevo, we are treating all roughly 347,000 newsletter addresses as known to the attacker and possibly reusable for phishing,” the spokesperson said.
Trezor said the Brevo incident did not compromise its hardware wallets, wallet backups or other internal systems. Customers who did not enter their wallet backup into the malicious application remained safe, according to the company.
The campaign follows several other phishing attempts involving the hardware wallet maker. In August, a Trezor user said he lost his life savings after a sponsored Google search result directed him to a fake website hosted through Google Sites.
Trezor said at the time that it was seeing more phishing websites impersonating the company through sponsored search results and warned customers never to enter wallet backups on websites.
Earlier in 2026, scammers took the impersonation attempts offline by sending fake Trezor and Ledger letters to hardware wallet owners. The letters contained QR codes leading to phishing websites that requested 12, 20 or 24-word recovery phrases under the pretext of completing authentication or transaction checks.
BitBox and CoinTracking accounts used in phishing wave
BitBox identified a similar campaign on Wednesday and warned users not to follow instructions contained in fraudulent emails sent under its name.
Its initial investigation found that several Bitcoin companies had been targeted and appeared to share the same newsletter provider. BitBox contacted the provider, warned newsletter subscribers and reported the phishing domains while investigating how the emails had been distributed.
The attack came weeks after BitBox patched two wallet vulnerabilities involving firmware installation and Bitcoin address handling. BitBox said there was no known exploitation of either flaw and reported no stolen user funds.
CoinTracking customers received a different phishing lure designed around the service’s portfolio tracking and tax-reporting functions.
The fraudulent email carried the subject line “Data Breach Notice: Please refresh API Keys as soon as possible,” according to CoinTracking. The company warned customers not to follow links contained in the message while it investigated the compromise of its Brevo account.
Brevo’s findings show that phishing emails represented only part of the activity across the 138 accessed accounts. The attacker exported contacts from 43 accounts, potentially leaving address lists available for use outside Brevo’s own mailing infrastructure.
Trezor is already treating its full newsletter list as potentially known to the attacker, although the company said it had not received confirmation that all 347,000 addresses were exported.
The hardware wallet maker has faced a separate customer data exposure this year involving logistics provider ShipMonk. Trezor initially disclosed in August that information belonging to 13,689 customers had been exposed through the shipping provider.
The scope later increased after Trezor learned that records belonging to approximately 67,000 additional U.S. customers had remained in ShipMonk’s systems. The older records covered purchases made between November 2019 and August 2021 and included names, email addresses, phone numbers, shipping addresses and order numbers.
Trezor said its own systems were not compromised in the ShipMonk incident and no private keys or recovery phrases were exposed. The company had previously received assurances that the older customer records had been deleted before learning on Sept. 2 that they remained stored by the provider.
Crypto World
Kalshi wants 24/7 Tesla and Nvidia perps as Wall Street fights over who regulates them

The prediction-market operator plans to seek U.S. approval for about 60 stock and ETF perps, taking one of crypto’s biggest trading products into equities.
Crypto World
Report Links $2.08M in LAPTOP Sales to Wintermute-Tagged Wallet

Onchain analyst Lookonchain reported that an address tagged by Arkham as Wintermute sold 466,255 LAPTOP for about $2.08 million after receiving tokens traced to the project team. For LAPTOP holders, the report identified project-allocated inventory moving out of a Wintermute-tagged wallet on the… Read the full story at The Defiant
Crypto World
AI Boom Could Worsen Bear Market, Analysts Warn. These Are The Risks They See.
A bear market in U.S. stocks would trigger a recession and chill artificial intelligence spending, causing spillover effects on bonds and global markets. U.S. investors would be hurt more than abroad, too. That’s the gloomy scenario painted by Fitch Ratings analysts in a report released Wednesday. And while Fitch is not forecasting a bear market, the firm sees risks rising…
Copyright ©2026 Investor’s Business Daily, LLC. All rights reserved. 87990cbe856818d5eddac44c7b1cdeb8
Crypto World
Nu launches U.S. services after OCC approval
Nu has launched U.S. deposit accounts, credit cards and international transfers through Lead Bank while introducing a stablecoin-based account serving more than 35 countries.
Summary
- Nu has launched U.S. accounts, cards and remittances through FDIC-insured partner Lead Bank initially online.
- Nu Global converts customer deposits into USDC or EURC while offering daily variable yields internationally.
- The U.S. account pays 3.50% APY, while its credit card provides unlimited 1.5% cashback initially.
- Nu’s national bank charter remains conditional, with Federal Reserve and FDIC approvals still pending today.
- More than 140 million customers use Nu across Brazil, Mexico and Colombia, the company says.
Nu said on Sept. 10 that customers could register immediately for early access to the products. The NYSE-listed financial technology company is entering the U.S. through a partner-bank structure because its own national bank charter remains subject to further regulatory approvals.
The U.S. offering includes an account paying a variable 3.50% annual percentage yield, a debit card and a Mastercard credit card carrying no annual fee. Nu Global, a separate international product, converts customer deposits into USDC or EURC and supports transfers across parts of Europe and Latin America.
Nu enters U.S. banking through Lead Bank
Nu is not currently a bank in the United States. Banking services and the Nu Credit Card are provided by Lead Bank, a member of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, according to disclosures accompanying the launch.
Customer deposits in the Nu Account are held at Lead Bank. Nu says the account pays 3.50% APY on every available dollar, with interest calculated and credited daily. The advertised rate was accurate as of Sept. 10 and may change after an account opens.
Users receive access to savings goals without losing immediate access to their funds. The account supports domestic transfers and international transfers beginning with Brazil, Mexico and Colombia, although Nu says more destinations will follow.
A limited-edition metal debit card forms part of the initial package. Through its Mastercard relationship, Nu is offering a metal World Elite credit card with no annual fee and unlimited 1.5% cashback on purchases.
The company plans to raise the cashback rate to 2% for customers who meet qualifying conditions. Nu has not disclosed the complete eligibility terms or confirmed when the higher rate will become available.
Eligible customers will eventually be able to earn 4.50% APY on savings balances of up to $10,000. To qualify, a customer must hold the Nu Account and credit card, then complete at least three eligible card transactions within the previous 34 days. Balances above $10,000 will continue earning the standard rate, according to the product disclosure.
Nu Global holds balances in USDC and EURC
Nu Global gives customers a digital account for holding, transferring and spending funds across more than 35 countries. Every deposit is converted into either USDC, a dollar-pegged stablecoin, or EURC, a euro-pegged stablecoin.
The company advertises a variable daily yield equivalent to 3.50% APY for USDC balances and 2.20% for EURC. Nu’s announcement does not identify how the yield is generated, which legal entity holds the stablecoins or whether the balances receive deposit insurance.
Stablecoins are digital assets designed to track reference currencies, but they are not the same as insured bank deposits. Nu Global should therefore be distinguished from the U.S. Nu Account provided through Lead Bank.
Customers receive a virtual Mastercard for spending their balances. Nu says the card offers competitive foreign exchange rates without markups, while transfers between supported countries carry no service fee.
The first group of supported markets covers much of the European Union and several Latin American countries. Transfers are available in Argentina, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay, according to a market list reported by Folha de S.Paulo.
European coverage includes Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Ireland, Switzerland, Sweden and more than 20 other jurisdictions. Integrations involving Nu’s businesses in Brazil, Mexico, Colombia and the U.S. are planned for the coming months.
The product permits customers to hold and trade selected digital assets, including Bitcoin and Ethereum. Nu has not published a complete token list, custody arrangement or fee schedule for those trades in its launch announcement.
In related coverage, 21 financial institutions are preparing a multicurrency stablecoin venture expected to begin issuing tokens in 2027. Separately, U.S. Bank completed a cross-border stablecoin pilot between its North American and European entities using Stellar.
Nu’s U.S. bank charter is not final
Nu applied to form Nubank, N.A. in September 2025. The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency granted conditional approval on Jan. 29, allowing the company to enter the bank-organization phase.
Conditional approval does not authorize Nubank, N.A. to begin independent banking operations. Nu must satisfy the OCC’s conditions and secure required approvals from the Federal Reserve and FDIC.
The company said in January that it needed to capitalize the proposed institution within 12 months and open the bank within 18 months. U.S. chief executive Cristina Junqueira told Reuters that she expects the bank to begin operating in 2027.
A completed charter would allow Nubank, N.A. to offer deposit accounts, credit cards, lending and digital asset custody under a federal banking structure. Until then, Nu’s U.S. customers receive regulated banking products from Lead Bank.
Nu founder and chief executive David Vélez described the launch as the beginning of a “multi-decade journey” outside Latin America. His statement presents the company’s strategy and should not be read as a forecast of future market share.
Junqueira said capturing even a small portion of the U.S. market “will be transformative for our business.” Nu has not published U.S. customer, deposit or revenue targets for the new operation.
U.S. launch follows Nu’s first $1 billion quarter
Nu reported $1.06 billion in net income for the second quarter of 2026, crossing $1 billion for the first time. The result increased 49% from the previous year on a currency-neutral basis and exceeded the $967.2 million Visible Alpha estimate cited by Reuters.
Second-quarter revenue reached $5.88 billion, up 39% and above the cited $5.60 billion forecast. Its risk-adjusted net interest margin rose to 12.4% from 9.9% one year earlier.
The company serves more than 140 million customers across Brazil, Mexico and Colombia, according to its latest announcement. Brazil remains its largest operation, where Nu says it serves more than 60% of the adult population.
In Mexico, the company describes itself as the largest digital bank. Nu says its Colombian business ranks fourth among the country’s financial institutions by deposits, though the claim depends on the company’s selected market classification.
Nu shares gained as much as 1.6% during U.S. trading after the announcement, Reuters reported. The publication identified the move as the market’s initial reaction, not a measure of the U.S. operation’s future financial performance.
Nu Global is already available in selected European and Latin American markets. The company has not provided exact launch dates for its planned integrations with Brazil, Colombia, Mexico and the United States.
Crypto World
Brevo Login Flaw Used to Phish 347K Trezor Users
A flaw in Brevo’s email login setup allowed an attacker to access client accounts and launch phishing campaigns that targeted subscribers of multiple crypto companies, including Trezor. Brevo’s post-incident write-up says 138 client accounts were involved, with phishing messages sent through infrastructure connected to hardware wallet maker BitBox and crypto portfolio tracking and tax-reporting platform CoinTracking.
The incident matters for users because it highlights how widely used marketing and notification providers can become a bridge for account-based compromise—one that can bypass typical email authentication safeguards and reach audiences that expect legitimate updates.
Key takeaways
- Brevo said an attacker used a login-system issue to gain access to 138 client accounts and send phishing emails from six of them.
- Trezor reported that the initial phishing email was sent to roughly 347,000 newsletter customers, and it disabled the malicious domain within about 20 minutes.
- Trezor, BitBox, and CoinTracking share the same email provider for newsletters, which enabled the attacker to pivot across multiple crypto audiences.
- Brevo said an intended authorization boundary failed, allowing access beyond the organization where invited Brevo users belonged.
- Crypto firms are treating their affected newsletter lists as potentially exposed and possibly reusable for further phishing attempts until more details emerge.
Brevo’s incident report: authorization boundary failure
In a Thursday postmortem, Brevo described how the attacker exploited a vulnerability in its login system to reach other organizations. Brevo said six accounts were used to send phishing emails. It also reported that contacts were exported from 43 accounts, while 93 accounts showed no meaningful activity. The company did not clarify whether those categories overlapped.
According to Brevo’s write-up, the attacker created a Brevo account, enabled single sign-on, and invited legitimate Brevo users into the configuration. Brevo said access should have been confined to a single organization, but the authorization boundary failed—granting the attacker access to every organization the invited users could reach.
Brevo also published its incident details through its status page, including the write-up referenced by affected companies.
Why crypto newsletters looked legitimate
The scope of the phishing effort expanded on earlier warnings from Trezor and BitBox, which had flagged that their shared email provider could be used to deliver convincing messages. Earlier coverage from Cointelegraph noted how the attack was able to pass normal authentication checks and appear genuine to recipients.
That combination—credible branding plus delivery through a familiar provider—makes these campaigns especially dangerous. Users are more likely to trust emails that match the expected tone and format of official newsletters, even when the link or call-to-action is malicious.
Trezor: app request tied to wallet backups
In a separate blog post, Trezor detailed what it said the phishing message contained. The email, titled “Critical Security Alert: STM32 Entropy Vulnerability,” included a link to an app that asked users for their wallet backups.
Trezor said it disabled the domain at the DNS level within 20 minutes. Even so, it reported that roughly 2,500 people accessed the link before the takedown.
A Trezor spokesperson told Cointelegraph that the initial email was sent to 347,000 customers and that all of those newsletter subscribers were later contacted about the risk. The company said its Brevo account stored only opt-in newsletter email addresses and no other customer data.
Until additional information is provided by Brevo, the spokesperson added that Trezor is treating the roughly 347,000 newsletter addresses as known to the attacker and possibly reusable for future phishing.
BitBox and CoinTracking: lists potentially exposed
BitBox said its unauthorized email was sent through Brevo and appeared to reach its full newsletter and tutorial list. In comments relayed to Cointelegraph, a BitBox spokesperson said the Brevo account stored only email addresses and language preferences.
BitBox reported that it found no evidence of compromised company credentials, did not observe downloads of contacts beyond what would be expected in normal operations, and saw no signs of lost funds or disclosure of recovery phrases. However, it said it is treating the newsletter list as potentially accessed while it awaits Brevo’s logs.
CoinTracking, meanwhile, said its Brevo account distributed an email titled “Data Breach Notice: Please refresh API Keys as soon as possible.” CoinTracking told recipients not to follow the email’s links.
Taken together, these responses underscore a common pattern: even when companies confirm that no funds were taken and no secret keys or recovery phrases were released, the exposure of email addresses and the ability to reach subscribers can still provide a platform for repeated social engineering.
What to watch next: breach scope and future targeting
Brevo’s report indicates that the attack relied on a failure in access controls tied to single sign-on invitations, but the company’s account-by-account impact remains partially detailed. Readers should watch for additional confirmation of which customer lists were actually exported or contacted, and whether attackers can reuse the exposed addresses for follow-on campaigns.
Crypto World
Ripple puts AI agents inside its $1 billion corporate treasury bet

The software can monitor cash, risk and forecasts and suggest financial moves, but humans still have to approve every action.
Crypto World
Clarity Act adds new DeFi rules before Senate vote
Senate Republicans have released a revised 630-page Clarity Act that adds federal oversight for certain crypto trading protocols five days before a scheduled Sept. 15 procedural vote.
Summary
- Senate Republicans released a 630-page Clarity Act draft before the September 15 procedural vote begins.
- The revised text creates CFTC registration rules for trading protocols that fail its decentralization standard.
- Lummis says Republicans incorporated more than 114 provisions requested by Democratic senators during negotiations and talks.
- Ethics language still gives the Justice Department primary enforcement authority and expires in January 2029.
- Sixty Senate votes are needed to advance the bill before debate and potential amendments begin.
Sen. Cynthia Lummis said on Sept. 10 that Republicans had incorporated more than 114 provisions requested by Democratic senators during negotiations. The Wyoming Republican described the new version as a bipartisan product, although no Democratic senator had publicly endorsed the revised text when it was released.
The Senate vote will determine whether lawmakers can begin formal debate on the crypto market structure bill. It is not a final vote on passage. Republicans need enough Democratic support to reach the Senate’s 60-vote procedural threshold because they control 53 seats.
Clarity Act revision targets controlled trading protocols
New language in the Clarity Act establishes a category called a “non-decentralized finance trading protocol.” The draft applies the term to people or coordinated groups that possess direct or indirect authority to control or materially change a protocol’s functions, operations or consensus rules.
Protocols covered by the definition would need to register with the Commodity Futures Trading Commission. The bill directs the CFTC and the Treasury Department to develop implementing rules, leaving the agencies to determine how the standard would work across different technical and governance arrangements.
The provision seeks to separate systems operating without a controlling party from platforms marketed as decentralized while retaining identifiable management or upgrade authority.
Questions about control have remained central to the Senate debate over DeFi regulation. Lawmakers have disagreed over whether software developers, interface operators and governance participants should face financial compliance duties when they do not take custody of customer assets.
The latest text limits its DeFi provisions to spot and cash digital commodity transactions. Lummis said the clarification responds to concerns from tribal governments about whether the legislation could affect prediction markets, which may involve separate federal and state legal questions.
Credit unions received further clarification on permissible digital asset activity, according to her statement. Public summaries available Thursday did not identify every provision changed in the full draft.
Ethics language remains a barrier to Democratic votes
The revised Clarity Act retains an ethics provision restricting public officials, government employees and their spouses from issuing or sponsoring digital assets. Enforcement authority would remain primarily with the Justice Department, while the restriction would expire in January 2029.
President Donald Trump accepted the provision in July, but Democratic lawmakers called it inadequate. Their objections have centered on the scope of the covered activity, the limited enforcement mechanism and the provision’s expiration date.
Trump and members of his family have financial connections to World Liberty Financial and the TRUMP memecoin. Critics say legislation regulating crypto markets should contain stronger restrictions governing digital asset interests held by senior federal officials.
A separate ethics proposal developed by Democratic senators and Republican Sen. Thom Tillis sought stronger terms. The Sept. 10 revision did not adopt major elements of that alternative, according to a report from Politico.
No Democratic support had been secured for the latest version at publication time, Politico reported. The lack of public commitments leaves Republicans short of the votes required to open debate if the chamber divides along party lines.
Lummis said the bill would give the digital asset industry a durable statutory structure that could not be changed as easily as agency rules following a new presidential administration. Her statement represents the sponsors’ position on the legislation’s value and permanence.
Stablecoin rewards and bank deposits remain disputed
Banking groups and crypto companies continue to disagree over stablecoin rewards. Banks contend that rewards paid on stablecoin balances could encourage customers to move money from insured accounts, reducing deposits used to support lending.
Crypto companies argue that transaction-based incentives differ from interest paid on bank deposits. Earlier Senate language prohibited payments based solely on holding a stablecoin while permitting rewards connected with payments, loyalty programs and other qualifying activity.
The disagreement has generated lobbying campaigns in senators’ home states. Reuters reported that the Independent Community Bankers of America had arranged meetings between local bankers and senators during the August recess.
Stand With Crypto, an advocacy organization backed by Coinbase, said its supporters contacted members of Congress nearly 50,000 times during August. The group reported holding events and publishing opinion pieces across several states to support passage.
Some Republicans have raised concerns alongside Democratic critics. Sens. James Lankford and Mike Rounds have questioned whether the bill could allow certain digital tokens to compete with traditional deposits, Reuters reported.
Democrats have cited separate concerns involving money laundering controls, consumer protection and market integrity. The revised protocol language addresses one part of the illicit-finance debate, but its release did not produce an announced agreement on the remaining disputes.
The Sept. 15 vote only opens floor debate
Senate Majority Leader John Thune scheduled the procedural vote for Sept. 15, one day after senators return to Washington. The scheduled vote requires 60 senators to support moving the Clarity Act into floor consideration.
A successful vote would permit debate and open the bill to amendments. Senators could seek changes to the ethics provision, stablecoin reward rules, DeFi requirements or the allocation of authority between the Securities and Exchange Commission and CFTC.
The legislation would create federal classifications for digital assets and divide oversight between the two market regulators. The CFTC would receive authority over spot markets for assets classified as digital commodities, while the SEC would retain jurisdiction over securities.
House lawmakers previously passed their version of the Clarity Act with support from members of both parties. Any changes adopted by the Senate would require the two chambers to approve identical text before the legislation could reach Trump.
Time remains limited because lawmakers are preparing for the November midterm elections. Reuters reported that crypto companies view the remaining 2026 legislative calendar as a critical opportunity, while analysts described the bill’s prospects as uncertain because of opposition from Democrats and several Republicans.
Lummis, who is not seeking another Senate term and will leave Congress in January 2027, has continued pressing lawmakers to approve the measure. In a Sept. 9 statement, she argued that the United States should set its own crypto rules instead of allowing jurisdictions such as Singapore or the United Arab Emirates to take the lead.
If the motion receives at least 60 votes, Senate leaders can proceed to debate and schedule amendment votes. Fewer than 60 votes would prevent the chamber from moving to the current bill unless leaders negotiate new terms and schedule another procedural attempt.
Crypto World
India starts tokenizing $620 billion corporate bond market with digital rupee settlement

SEBI’s Demat 2.0 pilot turns corporate bonds into digital tokens and settles payment through the RBI’s wholesale digital rupee, with secondary trading and retail access expected in later phases.
Crypto World
Tag Markets Names Craig Lund Chief Executive Officer
[PRESS RELEASE – Dubai, United Arab Emirates, September 10th, 2026]
The appointment brings a veteran of regulated digital-asset and brokerage businesses to a firm turning its focus from growth alone to the foundations that sustain it.
Tag Markets today announced the appointment of Craig Lund as Chief Executive Officer. Lund will lead the company’s executive team and its next phase of development, working alongside the firm’s founders and existing stakeholders.
Lund brings more than fifteen years of experience across financial services, regulated digital assets, operations and governance, with senior leadership roles at Merrill Lynch, M2, MidChains, BitOasis, and Property Finder. He has helped take multiple regulated financial businesses from formation to licensing across several jurisdictions, has led teams numbering in the hundreds, and has worked within organisations responsible for several billion dollars in trading volume. His experience spans risk, regulatory engagement, cross-border settlement, product infrastructure and the building of executive teams.
At BitOasis, he was part of the leadership team that scaled the business many times over and contributed to securing one of the first in-principle approvals granted by Abu Dhabi Global Market to a digital asset exchange and custodian. At MidChains, he helped build an over-the-counter desk that reached multi-billion-dollar volume within its first year. At M2, he led the group operational structure that took a globally regulated exchange and custody platform from a standstill to launch within months, under multiple global regulated frameworks.
The appointment comes as Tag Markets turns its attention to the part of a brokerage that clients experience most directly. Spreads and platforms are compared in an afternoon; a client’s view of a firm is formed by how quickly a withdrawal is processed and how promptly a support question is answered. Lund’s brief places those measures at the centre of the firm’s priorities and treats them as standards to be defined, measured and continuously improved.
“A broker earns trust in the moments a client feels, not in the ones it advertises,” Lund said. “The next chapter for Tag Markets is defined less by how fast it grows than by how well it runs. My focus is on the operating discipline, the governance and the client experience that let a firm grow across markets without losing the confidence of the people it serves.”
Three priorities define the agenda. The first is operating discipline: clear operating standards and escalation thresholds across the business, so that decisions are taken at the right level and are visible after the fact. The second is the resilience of execution, from order routing and pricing through to the controls that govern how changes reach live trading environments. The third is client service treated as management information, with feedback recorded, measured and reviewed so that patterns are seen early and acted on.
As Tag Markets grows across markets, the demands on its internal systems, its governance and its regulatory engagement grow with it. Lund’s background at the intersection of regulated finance, operational scale and technology reflects the capabilities that matter most at that stage.
About Tag Markets
Tag Markets is an online trading services provider offering access to foreign exchange, commodities, indices and other markets through leading trading platforms. Tag Markets is the trading name of “T.M. Financials Ltd”, incorporated in Mauritius (Company No. C185265), and regulated by the Financial Services Commission of Mauritius as an Investment Dealer (License No. GB21026474). Further information is available at tagmarkets.com.
The post Tag Markets Names Craig Lund Chief Executive Officer appeared first on CryptoPotato.
Crypto World
Sam Bankman-Fried takes conviction to Supreme Court
Sam Bankman-Fried has asked the U.S. Supreme Court to overturn his seven-count fraud conviction and approximately $11 billion forfeiture order after losing his appeal in June 2026.
Summary
- Sam Bankman-Fried has asked the Supreme Court to review his seven-count fraud conviction and sentence.
- The Second Circuit unanimously upheld his conviction, 25-year prison term and $11 billion forfeiture order.
- His petition challenges trial rulings admitting loss evidence while limiting defense testimony about potential repayment.
- Bankman-Fried argues the $11 billion forfeiture violates constitutional protections against excessive financial penalties and fines.
- The Supreme Court must grant certiorari before conducting any review of the underlying case merits.
CNN, which reviewed the petition filed on Sept. 10, reported that the former FTX chief wants a new trial over limits placed on evidence concerning FTX’s assets and the potential repayment of customers. He is serving a 25-year federal prison sentence imposed in March 2024.
The petition asks the justices to examine whether prosecutors could present evidence suggesting customers suffered large losses while the trial court restricted defense evidence about assets that might eventually cover those losses. Bankman-Fried’s lawyers describe the evidentiary rulings as unfair because net financial loss was not required under the fraud theory applied to the case.
His lawyers separately claim the $11.02 billion forfeiture violates the Eighth Amendment’s Excessive Fines Clause. The defense raised a similar constitutional argument before the Second Circuit, which rejected it when affirming the conviction, sentence and forfeiture.
Sam Bankman-Fried challenges how loss evidence was used
At Bankman-Fried’s 2023 trial, federal prosecutors presented evidence that FTX customer money had been transferred without authorization to Alameda Research and used for investments, loan repayments, political donations, real estate and personal expenses.
A jury in the Southern District of New York convicted him on seven counts involving wire fraud, conspiracy, securities fraud, commodities fraud and money laundering. U.S. District Judge Lewis Kaplan later sentenced him to 25 years in prison, followed by three years of supervised release.
Bankman-Fried’s Supreme Court petition focuses on the handling of financial-loss evidence. His defense claims FTX and Alameda were “temporarily illiquid” but owned enough valuable assets to repay customers over time. Later bankruptcy recoveries and creditor distributions form part of the argument, although they occurred after the conduct addressed at trial.
Prosecutors maintained that unauthorized use of customer deposits completed the fraud regardless of whether investments later rose in value. The Second Circuit accepted that position when it upheld Bankman-Fried’s conviction in June.
Jeffrey Fisher, an attorney representing Bankman-Fried before the Supreme Court, told CNN that evidence suggesting people lost money was “distracting and prejudicial” under a prosecution theory that did not require proof of an ultimate loss.
His statement represents the defense’s legal position. It does not alter the jury’s findings or the Second Circuit’s description of the trial evidence as “conservatively stated, robust.”
A 2025 ruling shaped the rejected appeal
The lower appellate court relied heavily on the Supreme Court’s 2025 ruling in Kousisis v. United States. The case concerned contractors who used false certifications to obtain a government bridge-painting contract involving requirements for disadvantaged businesses.
In a unanimous decision, the Supreme Court held that a material lie used to induce a victim to enter a transaction involving money or property can support a federal fraud conviction even without an intent to cause net economic loss.
Applying Kousisis, the Second Circuit found that Bankman-Fried’s belief that customers might eventually be repaid did not provide a defense to unauthorized transfers. The court said the alleged fraud occurred when customer assets went to Alameda for purposes customers had not approved.
The new petition raises a narrower evidentiary question. Bankman-Fried argues that if actual loss was legally unnecessary, the government should not have been allowed to use loss evidence against him. If prosecutors could introduce it, his lawyers contend, the defense should have been permitted to offer evidence pointing toward eventual repayment.
The Second Circuit had already rejected his claim that the trial court issued one-sided evidentiary decisions. Its June opinion said the lower court acted within its discretion when excluding evidence about the later value of FTX-related investments.
Following the June ruling, the appellate court issued its mandate in August, formally returning jurisdiction to the district court and leaving the judgment in effect. As crypto.news reported, the mandate confirmed the 25-year sentence and forfeiture order.
The $11 billion forfeiture faces a separate challenge
Bankman-Fried’s petition asks the Supreme Court to review the forfeiture as a second question. Judge Kaplan ordered him to forfeit $11.02 billion under federal statutes covering proceeds connected to specified crimes and money laundering.
Before the Second Circuit, the defense argued that the amount had been calculated incorrectly and was grossly disproportionate to the offenses. His lawyers claimed the judgment could prevent him from earning a living after completing his prison sentence.
The appeals court acknowledged that $11 billion was a large sum, particularly when many creditors might receive payments from the bankruptcy estate. It found, however, that federal forfeiture law calculates the amount through proceeds obtained from criminal conduct, not solely through the victims’ remaining losses.
Examining the Eighth Amendment issue, the panel applied the Supreme Court’s test for deciding whether a forfeiture is grossly disproportionate to an offense. It found that Bankman-Fried had not meaningfully challenged the main factors used by the district court.
The panel further ruled that an inability to satisfy the judgment did not, by itself, make the order unconstitutional. Bankman-Fried now wants the justices to reconsider that conclusion.
FTX’s bankruptcy distributions remain legally separate from his criminal judgment. The estate has used recovered assets to pay eligible creditors under its confirmed Chapter 11 plan. In related coverage, crypto.news reported that FTX scheduled nearly $900 million for its fifth creditor distribution in July 2026.
Supreme Court review is not automatic
Filing a petition does not give Bankman-Fried another trial or suspend his sentence. The Supreme Court must grant certiorari before the justices consider the merits, and four of the nine justices must vote to hear the case.
The federal government will have an opportunity to respond. The justices may then grant the petition, deny it or request further briefing before making a decision. A denial would leave the Second Circuit’s judgment and the district court’s sentence in place without creating a new ruling on the legal questions.
If review is granted, the case could address the use of financial-loss evidence in prosecutions based on fraudulent inducement. The Court could choose to consider only one of the petition’s questions, including the evidentiary issue or the Eighth Amendment challenge.
Bankman-Fried previously sought relief through several lower-court arguments concerning trial evidence, jury instructions, access to potentially favorable material and his proposed advice-of-counsel defense. The Second Circuit rejected each basis for reversal in its 42-page opinion.
The Supreme Court has not ruled on the petition’s merits. Its next public procedural steps may include assigning a docket number, setting a response deadline and distributing the petition for consideration at a private conference.
-
Tech3 days agoMemory prices are slowing because buyers ran out of money
-
Business1 day agoMicron Stock Climbs Above $1,031 as AI Memory Crunch and a $50 Billion Outlook Fuel the Rally
-
Crypto World2 days agoBitcoin price risks $76K drop as $78K support weakens
-
Business1 day agoAMD Stock Climbs After Management Lifts 2027 Data Center Outlook Toward $70 Billion in AI Sales
-
Crypto World2 days agoEthereum price stalls below $2,500 as ADX drops to 11
-
Crypto World3 days agoRobinhood Stock: How To Take Advantage With Reduced Risk
-
NewsBeat2 days agoWhat went right this week: an ‘historic’ fall in violent crime, plus more
-
Crypto World1 day agoBitcoin price risks $70K if $78K neckline breaks
-
Crypto World3 days agoBrent Crude Oil Moves Above $100 for the First Time in 3 Months
-
Crypto World2 days agoBitcoin price holds near $79K as cycle drawdowns narrow
-
NewsBeat3 days agoEngland up in reading, maths and science rankings as Scotland and Wales dip
-
Business2 days agoMeta debuts long-awaited personal AI agent, Muse
-
Sports3 days agoPhones confiscated, players sent home: Pakistan’s England tour turmoil revives memories of Mohammad Amir, Salman Butt and Mohammad Asif’s 2010 Lord’s spot-fixing scandal | Cricket News
-
Crypto World3 days agoIntel Stock Jumps 9% on Chip Price Hike Report, US Stake Gains $36 Billion
-
Crypto World3 days agoPump Fun and Kraken delete Hunter Biden $LAPTOP promotion
-
Crypto World1 day agoEthereum price breakout hinges on a close above $2,535
-
Crypto World3 days agoVisa expands stablecoin card network to 160 programs
-
Tech3 days agoStrong Password Policy and Password Manager Guide
-
Crypto World16 hours ago2 Chip Stocks Broke Out This Week. Neither Was Nvidia
-
Business3 days agoEgyptian TV Presenter Sarah Khalifa, 11 Others Sentenced To Death In Major Drug Trafficking Case In Cairo

You must be logged in to post a comment Login